Quantitative and Qualitative Research
To find other material similar to this, follow these these instructions.
While in the library catalog, enter either "Quantitative Research" or "Qualitative Research" in the top search box. Change that dropdown to "SU Subject Terms". In the second box, enter "methodology" and change the dropdown to "SU Subject Terms". Use the "filters" on the left-hand side to narrow by "full text", set the date range, and "Filter by Source Type" to "eBooks". Read the "subjects" to understand the nature of each book.
METHODOLOGY
Quantitative Research
Approaches to Quantitative Research by
APPROACHES TO QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH is designed for both undergraduate and postgraduate business students who are planning to undertake a research project or dissertation. Due to a lack of formal research training and experience, students can find completing research projects a daunting task. This, coupled with a fear of statistics, can culminate in quite an overwhelming experience for many students. Therefore, APPROACHES TO QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH takes a practical approach to quantitative research techniques by providing step-by-step guides to their application and interpretation. By using easy-to-understand language, while at the same time not losing the statistical underpinnings, as well as downloadable datasets, this book demonstrates how to use the appropriate quantitative methods to answer different types of research questions, and how to analyse data by using SPSS.
Handbook of Quantitative Methods for Educational Research by
As part of their research activities, researchers in all areas of education develop measuring instruments, design and conduct experiments and surveys, and analyze data resulting from these activities. Educational research has a strong tradition of employing state-of-the-art statistical and psychometric (psychological measurement) techniques. Commonly referred to as quantitative methods, these techniques cover a range of statistical tests and tools. Quantitative research is essentially about collecting numerical data to explain a particular phenomenon of interest. Over the years, many methods and models have been developed to address the increasingly complex issues that educational researchers seek to address. This handbook serves to act as a reference for educational researchers and practitioners who desire to acquire knowledge and skills in quantitative methods for data analysis or to obtain deeper insights from published works. Written by experienced researchers and educators, each chapter in this handbook covers a methodological topic with attention paid to the theory, procedures, and the challenges on the use of that particular methodology. It is hoped that readers will come away from each chapter with a greater understanding of the methodology being addressed as well as an understanding of the directions for future developments within that methodological area.
Educational Research in Higher Education by
Moreover, in recognition of the limitations inherent to its conceptualization, in which models present approaches from quantitative and qualitative research in order to address the totality and density of human endeavor. For this reason, within higher education research a more pluralistic and flexible view of research is emerging, where models of quantitative and qualitative research are recognized as being complementary to each other, to enter the social convolution in which we live. Educational Research in Higher Education presents latest research theories and modern-day examples of design research in higher education. The chapters represent an extensive assortment of interpretations and examples of how today's new design researchers conceptualize this growing methodology across areas as varied as classroom teaching methodologies, instructional innovations, educational technology, equality studies, environmental education, etc. This book is planned as a guide for master and doctoral students, novel researchers, crossover and professional researchers from field's other than but related to higher education, who are interested in supporting new design research.
Qualitative Research
Research Design by
This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Rapid Qualitative Inquiry by
Practitioners in need of timely results for program and policy planning--and students looking for realistic research projects--will find solutions in Rapid Qualitative Inquiry (RQI), a team-based, applied research method designed to quickly develop an insider's perspective on and preliminary understanding of complicated "on-the-ground" situations. In this accessible field guide to RQI, James Beebe provides an introduction to research that substitutes teamwork for long-term fieldwork; uses iterative data collection, data analysis, and additional data collection; triangulates data from multiple sources; and applies techniques and concepts from ethnography and case study research. Extensive examples make clear that "rapid" does not mean "rushed" and that rigorous RQI depends upon flexibility rather than an arbitrary list of techniques. Throughout, Beebe's clear prose guides interdisciplinary readers through the process, promise, and potential pitfalls of RQI.
Big Data for Qualitative Research by
Big Data for Qualitative Researchcovers everything small data researchers need to know about big data, from the potentials of big data analytics to its methodological and ethical challenges. The data that we generate in everyday life are now digitally mediated, stored, and analyzed by web sites, companies, institutions, and governments. Big data is large-volume, rapidly generated, digitally encoded information that is often related to other networked data, and can provide valuable evidence for study of phenomena. The book explores the potentials of qualitative methods and analysis for big data, including text mining, sentiment analysis, information and data visualization, netnography, follow-the-thing methods, mobile research methods, multimodal analysis, and rhythmanalysis. It debates new concerns about ethics, privacy, and dataveillance for big data qualitative researchers. This book is essential reading for those who do qualitative and mixed methods research, and are curious, excited, or even sceptical about big data and what it means for future research. Now is the time for researchers to understand, debate, and envisage the new possibilities and challenges of the rapidly developing and dynamic field of big data from the vantage point of the qualitative researcher. e who do qualitative and mixed methods research, and are curious, excited, or even sceptical about big data and what it means for future research. Now is the time for researchers to understand, debate, and envisage the new possibilities and challenges of the rapidly developing and dynamic field of big data from the vantage point of the qualitative researcher.
Mixed Methods Research
The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry by
Offering a variety of innovative methods and tools, The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date presentation on multi- and mixed-methods research available. Written in clear and concise language by leading scholars in thefield, it enhances and disrupts traditional ways of asking and addressing complex research questions. Topics include an overview of theory, paradigms, and scientific inquiry; a guide to conducting a multi- and mixed-methods research study from start to finish; current uses of multi- andmixed-methods research across academic disciplines and research fields; the latest technologies and how they can be incorporated into study design; and a presentation of multiple perspectives on the key remaining debates.Each chapter in the volume is structured to include state-of-the-art research examples that cross a range of disciplines and interdisciplinary research settings. In addition, the Handbook offers multiple quantitative and qualitative theoretical and interdisciplinary visions and praxis. Researchers,faculty, graduate students, and policy makers will appreciate the exceptional, timely, and critical coverage in this Handbook, which deftly addresses the interdisciplinary and complex questions that a diverse set of research communities are facing today.
Data Analysis
There are numerous programs for collecting and analyzing quantitative and qualitative data. Below is Princeton's Library's Research Guide on data analysis. There are videos and handouts for the various programs. Feel free to consult that guide for data analysis.